What is the ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI)?

ITIL CSI Certification

The Continual Service Improvement is part of the ITIL CSI Certification. It is a vital topic, as it teaches the aspirants about the continual service improvement for managerial and administrative positions.

First, it is important to understand the goals and motives of this topic.

Purposes of CSI

There are several purposes of Continual Service Improvement, and these objectives are very important to understand. In order to understand the later part of the CSI topic. The basic purpose of CSI is:

  • Acknowledgment, description, analysis, and interpretation of improvement principles, techniques, and visible relationships and application of the same.
  • Integration of CSI with various stages of ITIL Service Lifecycle.
  • Understanding the whereabouts of 7 steps improvement processes.

Now, as we have discussed the objectives of CSI in brief, let’s jump into the vital discussion about the 7 steps processes and how to implement those processes.

The 7 Steps of CSI

  1. Identification of Improvement Strategies

Before setting out to improve something, one has to identify “what should be improved?” This happens because he doesn’t study according to the portion, but he studies in a haphazard manner. Well, if he wants to achieve good marks in the future, then he has to identify the portion and has to plan his schedule accordingly. Only then could he achieve good marks and excel in any subject.

Likewise, in the case of CSI, one has identified the measures to improve. They have to make a list of measures of improvement.

The list of improvement can carry activities that are:

  • Service level targets
  • Mission statements
  • Catalog of service
  • Goals of department, divisions, and corporate
  • Legislative necessities
  • Necessities of governance
  • Cycle of Budget
  • Balanced Scorecard

The expected results of the activities are:

  • Objectives and goals
  • Vision and mission

Let’s go the next step.

  1. Defining measures

In this step, measures are to be defined, which were shortlisted in the 1st step. Further, it is recommended for the professionals to use pre-customized and configured tools to measure define the measures. Those tools are investigation tools, service management tools, and so on.

  1. Collecting Data

In this step, one has the gathered required Data related to measurable. So after defining the measures in the 2nd step, the ITIL certified professionals will have to gather and accumulate all the required data. But they should keep in mind that not all the data are required. Most of the data related to policies are manually written and created by people.

In such cases, it is recommended to use data monitoring with the help of technology. There are many tools and applications to do so. These applications are helpful because they will not only help a person to gather data, but these applications are optimized to identify unwanted data.

  1. Data Processing

Once the required data is gathered, it is necessary for an ITIL certified professional to process the gathered data. In such cases, these professionals should follow the way of metric to KPI to CSF. Well, it is a tough task to perform; this is why most of the professionals use various report generating technologies to do process the collected data.

  1. Analysis of Data

After processing the data, the processed data will go for analysis. In this step, most of the data are influential data. Well, the analysis of the data will be done to find the loopholes in services. Well, this step is full of responsibilities, so this step is carried out by experienced professionals.

  1. Presentation and utility of Data

In this step, after all the data gathering, monitoring, analyzing is done, the summed up knowledge of Data is collected, presented to higher authorities, and are utilized. Well, this the step where an organization uses all the types of data reports to identify their mistakes, and they also use such information to find their target audience. So the organizations use these data to understand the demands of their customers precisely and clearly. And then these organizations gear up to deliver services that are desired by their customers.

  1. Implementation of Data

In this step, organizations tend to learn from their mistakes, depicted in the data. And then, these organizations work on their mistake and rectify them. Further, they implement these data to optimize their services for better performance to deliver better services to their customers.


This sums up the meaning and whereabouts of ITIL Continual Service Management. Well, CSI is indeed a very necessary part of the ITIL lifecycle. This phase helps an organization interact with its customers directly, and this is the phase where all service improvements are carried out.