MP Judiciary syllabus and examination process


The MP Judiciary Exam or MP  PCS(J) Civil  Judge  Examination is conducted by Madhya  Pradesh  High Court every year to fulfill all vacancies at post related to the judiciary.  They select a suitable candidate for the position of  Judicial  Magistrate First Class.

MP Judiciary exam                                  

The Examination process consists of three stages, the first one is  Preliminary  Examination, which is wholly based on a multiple-choice  Objective test, with negative marking for every wrong selected answer.

The second stage is  Mains  Examination; candidates who cleared the cut off of  Preliminary  Examination are eligible for the second stage. Which is the Mains  Exam; Mains Exam is descriptive and in written format. The third or final stage is  Interview; candidates who cleared the second stage will appear in the third stage.

MP Judiciary Exam Highlights                                                  

  • Exam Conducting Body- Madhya Pradesh High Court
  • Stage of Exam- Prelims, Mains and Personality Test
  • Maximum Attempts- 6
  • Number of Vacancies- To be announced.

MP Judiciary Online Form 2020-21                                 

Following   given  steps  need  to  follow  to  fill the form for the Madhya  Pradesh  Judiciary  Exam :

  • The first Candidate needs to visit the website of the MP Public  Service  Commission and click on the link for the application.
  • After the Reaching page, candidates need to fill in all details such as name, date of birth, educational qualification, and other crucial information.
  • The candidate should then upload a scanned photo passport size and a signature in the format and size.
  • Finally, the candidate has to pay the fee for the application.

MP Judiciary syllabus (Preliminary exam)

The online preliminary exam is only for 2 hours, and it will be an objective type question paper in which one question will carry one mark only. Here is the breakup of MP Judiciary syllabus down below

  • Constitution of India, 1908- 10 questions
  • Code of civil procedure, 1882- 15 questions
  • Transfer of property act, 1872- 8 questions
  • Indian contract act, 1872- 8 questions
  • Specific relief act, 1963- 6 questions
  • Limitation act, 1963- 4 questions
  • MP accommodation control act, 1961- 5 questions
  • MP land revenue code, 1959- 5 question
  • Indian evidence act, 1872- 15 questions
  • Indian penal code, 1861- 15 questions
  • Code of criminal procedure, 1973- 15 questions
  • Negotiable instruments act, 1881- 5 questions
  • General knowledge- 20 questions
  • Computer knowledge- 10 questions
  • English knowledge- 10 questions

MP judiciary syllabus (mains exam)

The main examination will consist of 4 papers. Each paper will be carrying 100 marks, which will be combined as 400 marks. You will get 3 hours for each question paper.

  • First question paper
  • Constitution of India
  • Code of civil procedure, 1908
  • Transfer of property act, 1882
  • Indian contract act, 1872
  • Specific reliefs act, 1963
  • Limitation act, 1963

Second question paper

  • Writing on social issues- 30 marks
  • Writing on a legal issue- 20 marks.
  • Precis writing- 20 marks
  • Translation (Hindi to English)- 15 marks
  • Translation (English to Hindi)- 15 marks

Third question paper

  • MP accommodation control act, 1961
  • MP land revenue code, 1959
  • Indian evidence act, 1872
  • Indian penal code, 1860
  • Code of criminal procedure, 1973-
  • Negotiable instruments act, 1881

Fourth question paper

  • Farming of issues- 10 marks
  • Farming of chargers- 10 marks
  • Judgemental/order (civil) writing- 40 marks
  • Judgemental/order (criminal) writing- 40 marks

Important note- For the judgemental/order writing, a plaint, written statement, charge sheet, and complaint will be provided as applicable.

Viva Voce (personal interview)

The maximum marks for the viva-voce are 50.

Only the marks from the main exam and the viva-voce will arrive at the final ranking.